Talkin' Loud Sampler Volume 2

01. Hide And Seek - Urban Species
02. Hungry Like A Baby - Galliano
03. Colibri - Incognito
04. You've Got To Move - Omar
05. Back To The Real World - K-Creative
06. All I Have In Me - Young Disciples
07. Marxman (Theme) - Marxman
08. Qui Semme Le Vente Recolte Le Tempo - MC Solaar
09. Serious Love - Perception
10. I Commit - Powell, Bryan
11. Take Me Now - Payne, Tammy
12. Apparently Nothin' - Young Disciples
13. There's Nothing Like This - Omar
14. Prince Of Peace - Galliano
15. Always There - Incognito

dl in comments...


acidjazzy said...

dl =

pw = nothinglikethis

Anonymous said...

Hi acid jazz man, i've been looking for a cd for years, ever since mine was stolen: it's called "acid dubs", a mix of heavy dub and acid jazz, on talkin loud records. any ideas?

acidjazzy said...

Hi Anon. I'll try and get it up today.

What is Acid Jazz?

Acid jazz (also known as club jazz) is a musical genre that combines elements of soul music, funk, disco, particularly looping beats and modal harmony. It developed over the 1980s and 1990s and could be seen as tacking the sound of jazz-funk onto electronic dance/pop music.

The compositions of groups such as The Brand New Heavies and Incognito often feature chord structures usually associated with Jazz music. The Heavies in particular were known in their early years for beginning their songs as catchy pop and rapidly steering them into jazz territory before "resolving" the composition and thus not losing any pop listeners but successfully "exposing" them to jazz elements in "baby steps".

The acid jazz "movement" is also seen as a "revival" of jazz-funk or jazz fusion or soul jazz by leading DJs such as Norman Jay or Gilles Peterson or Patrick Forge, also known as "rare groove crate diggers".