Acid Jazz Podcast #2

If you prefer to listen to this mix externally, use the links below the embedded player. And, of course, you can download individual tunes by right clicking on them. Enjoy!

External Player Links...

Winamp (M3U)
Real Player
Windows Media Player


01 Exodus Quartet - Groove Gumbo
02 Galliano - Nothing Has Changed
03 Cloud Nine - Luvbug
04 Soulive - Vapor
05 Urban Species - Religion and Politics
06 A-One - Dont Hold Your Breath
07 Fertile Ground - Peace And Love (Jazztronik Version)
08 Silent Poets - Save The Day (Restless Soul Moontime Mix)
09 Neaco - Petelabass
10 MC Solaar - Qui Semme Le Vente Recolte Le Tempo
11 Urban Species - Blanket
12 Directions In Groove - Same Like B3

No comments:

What is Acid Jazz?

Acid jazz (also known as club jazz) is a musical genre that combines elements of soul music, funk, disco, particularly looping beats and modal harmony. It developed over the 1980s and 1990s and could be seen as tacking the sound of jazz-funk onto electronic dance/pop music.

The compositions of groups such as The Brand New Heavies and Incognito often feature chord structures usually associated with Jazz music. The Heavies in particular were known in their early years for beginning their songs as catchy pop and rapidly steering them into jazz territory before "resolving" the composition and thus not losing any pop listeners but successfully "exposing" them to jazz elements in "baby steps".

The acid jazz "movement" is also seen as a "revival" of jazz-funk or jazz fusion or soul jazz by leading DJs such as Norman Jay or Gilles Peterson or Patrick Forge, also known as "rare groove crate diggers".