Stolen Moments: Red Hot + Cool

Stolen Moments: Red Hot + Cool is one of the compilation albums from the Red Hot project. This fifth entry in the Red Hot AIDS Benefit Series was heralded as the "Album of the Year" by Time Magazine upon its release in 1994 by GRP Records.

The Stolen Moments: Red Hot + Cool project provides a meeting place where artists of several generations and styles can meet and create a musical dialogue. Where does fusion flow into funk? Where does the controlled anarchy of hard be-bop feed into the adrenaline-rush of hard core hip-hop? The answer to these questions and more are found in the spirit of collaboration and discovery on Stolen Moments: Red Hot + Cool.

In addition to the straight ahead jazz and rap elements found with on this extraordinary recording, gospel vocals, blues guitar, scat singing, R&B, soul and other African American art forms hug and tug and pull at each other, like relatives at a long overdue reunion. Gender, age, and race are bridged in the three-way effort by Us3, Tony Remy, and Joshua Redman (son of the legendary Dewey Redman). Up-and-coming talents meet one of their heroes in the case of Groove Collective's joint jam with funk master Bernie Worell. Ditto for Me'Shell N'degéOcello's musical studio encounter with Herbie Hancock. Two men from two different eras but with surprisingly similar ears for music join forces in a track by Donald Byrd and Gangstarr's Guru. Add the differences of language and culture into the equation when you consider the distances spanned by Ron Carter's collaboration with Afro-French rapper MC Solaar.

The list goes on and on, including contributions by Michael Franti, Digable Planets with Lester Bowie & Wah Wah Watson, The Pharcyde, Roots with Roy Ayers, Incognito, Carleen Anderson with Ramsey Lewis, Umar Bin Hassan and Abiodun Oyewole (formerly of The Last Poets) with Pharoah Sanders, Don Cherry with Watts Prophets, and Branford Marsalis.

Disc one

01. Time Is Moving On - Donald Byrd with Guru + Ronny Jordan
02. Un Ange En Danger - MC Solaar + Ron Carter
03. Positive - Michael Franti / Spearhead
04. Nocturnal Sunshine - Me’Shell NdegéOcello featuring Herbie Hancock
05. Flyin’ High In The Brooklyn Sky - Digable Planets with Lester Bowie + Wah Wah Watson
06. Stolen Moments - United Future Organization (UFO)
07. The Rubbers Song - The Pharcyde
08. Proceed II - The Roots + Roy Ayers – 5:52
09. Trouble Don't Last Always - Incognito + Carleen Anderson with Ramsey Lewis
10. Rent Strike (DJ Smash Remix) - Groove Collective + Bernie Worrell
11. The Scream - Us3 with Joshua Redman + Tony Rémy
12. This Is Madness - Umar Bin Hassan + Abiodun Oyewole (formerly of the Last Poets) with Pharaoh Sanders
13. Apprehension - Don Cherry + The Watts Prophets

Disc two (Bonus CD)

01. A Love Supreme - Branford Marsalis
02. A Love Supreme - Alice Coltrane
03. The Creator Has A Master Plan (Trip Hop Remix) - Pharaoh Sanders

Stolen Moments: Red Hot + Cool Website

Get Stolen Moments: Red Hot + Cool At Amazon

dl in comments...


acidjazzy said...

disk 1 dl =

disk 2 dl =

pw = acidjazzy

Anonymous said...

this is another essential piece for anyone wants to know what's acid jazz about.

almost all of them are perfect pieces!

this shit is simply 10/10!

Anonymous said...

Rox! Nice Old Schooler... heard this album with a good old friend... now i found it back... Thnx for that... makes me feel so much junger ;-).

SpankyMonkey said...

Thanks! I lost this album in a flood and now I found it again...(

Lil Crawford said...


What is Acid Jazz?

Acid jazz (also known as club jazz) is a musical genre that combines elements of soul music, funk, disco, particularly looping beats and modal harmony. It developed over the 1980s and 1990s and could be seen as tacking the sound of jazz-funk onto electronic dance/pop music.

The compositions of groups such as The Brand New Heavies and Incognito often feature chord structures usually associated with Jazz music. The Heavies in particular were known in their early years for beginning their songs as catchy pop and rapidly steering them into jazz territory before "resolving" the composition and thus not losing any pop listeners but successfully "exposing" them to jazz elements in "baby steps".

The acid jazz "movement" is also seen as a "revival" of jazz-funk or jazz fusion or soul jazz by leading DJs such as Norman Jay or Gilles Peterson or Patrick Forge, also known as "rare groove crate diggers".