The James Taylor Quartet - In the Hand of the Inevitable

The James Taylor Quartet are synonymous with the sound of classic Acid Jazz. Formed in 1985, they had instant success with the release of there debut single "Blow Up" which topped the indie charts and appeared in John Peels Festive 50 charts for 3 years running. Over the years they have released several acclaimed albums on the Acid Jazz label, from the debut mini album "Mission Impossible" through "The Money Spyder" to "In the hand of the Inevitable" "Extended Play" and "Living Underground".

JTQ also truly excel in the live arena. Their concerts are legendary experiences with their emphasis on live 'dance' music becoming a prominent key to the band's success, enabling them to establish a solid relationship between them and their fans. Over the years JTQ have gigged relentlessly, often playing up to 150 shows a year around the world and varying between week long residencies at London's Jazz Cafe and Birmingham's Ronnie Scotts to huge sell out shows at the 6000 capacity Brixton Academy.

James Taylor's prolific talent has been widely recognised and The Manic Street Preachers, The Pogues and The Wonderstuff have all benefited from his distinctive Hammond style on their albums and live shows. JTQ were also the house band on Gaby Roslin's UK TV chat show bringing them an even greater audience.

When the James Taylor Quartet are on their game, laying down guitar lines right out of the Melvin Sparks songbook ("3 Mile Island") or pounding out sweat-drenched B3 gems (the title-track), they create amazingly evocative music, as their unforgettable acid-tinged version of Zeppelin's "Whole Lotta Love" proves. But then vocals appear and all that carefully-crafted mood flies right out the window in a breeze of quiet-storm-styled soul. Sometimes you just have to take the great with the mediocre, and that's the case with In the Hand of the Inevitable.

01. Love Will Keep Us Together
02. 3 Mile Island
03. Free Your Mind
04. Haitian Breakdown
05. Good Thing
06. Let's Get Together
07. Segue No. 1
08. Stepping into My Life
09. Whole Lotta Love
10. Journey
11. Sounds of Freedom
12. Keep on Moving
13. In the Hand of the Inevitable

The James Taylor Quartet Website

Get The James Taylor Quartet - In the Hand of the Inevitable At Amazon

dl in comments...


acidjazzy said...

dl =

pw = freeyomind

Cristian said...

Está filete!!
te pasaste..

Wiz Khalifa said...

nice! you even supplied the password for it

What is Acid Jazz?

Acid jazz (also known as club jazz) is a musical genre that combines elements of soul music, funk, disco, particularly looping beats and modal harmony. It developed over the 1980s and 1990s and could be seen as tacking the sound of jazz-funk onto electronic dance/pop music.

The compositions of groups such as The Brand New Heavies and Incognito often feature chord structures usually associated with Jazz music. The Heavies in particular were known in their early years for beginning their songs as catchy pop and rapidly steering them into jazz territory before "resolving" the composition and thus not losing any pop listeners but successfully "exposing" them to jazz elements in "baby steps".

The acid jazz "movement" is also seen as a "revival" of jazz-funk or jazz fusion or soul jazz by leading DJs such as Norman Jay or Gilles Peterson or Patrick Forge, also known as "rare groove crate diggers".