Incognito - Beneath the Surface

Incognito's "Beneath the Surface" is a wonderful set of smooth/acid jazz at its best. Maysa returns on this effort after being away on the "100 Degree and Rising" set and it's a welcomed return. Her vocals range from strong (Out of the Storm), to tender (Shades of Blue, Misunderstood), to sensual (All that You Want Me to Be). This effort showcases what a wonderful vocalist Maysa is and how talented Bluey is in bringing the music and the voice together.

1. Solar Fire
2. Labour Of Love
3. Beneath The Surface
4. Shade Of Blue
5. Without You
6. Misunderstood
7. Hold On To Me
8. Living Against The River
9. She Wears Black
10. Fountain Of Life
11. Out Of The Storm
12. Dark Side Of The Cog
13. All That You Want Me To Be
14. Sunchild

Incognito's Website

Get Incognito - Beneath the Surface at Amazon


acidjazzy said... said...

He dear you have a music blog would you like to sign in for the Great Big Free, Music Blog Web Ring at:

More vistors, more contact, more new blogs and more..

yaloL said...

thx for sharing happiness ;))

What is Acid Jazz?

Acid jazz (also known as club jazz) is a musical genre that combines elements of soul music, funk, disco, particularly looping beats and modal harmony. It developed over the 1980s and 1990s and could be seen as tacking the sound of jazz-funk onto electronic dance/pop music.

The compositions of groups such as The Brand New Heavies and Incognito often feature chord structures usually associated with Jazz music. The Heavies in particular were known in their early years for beginning their songs as catchy pop and rapidly steering them into jazz territory before "resolving" the composition and thus not losing any pop listeners but successfully "exposing" them to jazz elements in "baby steps".

The acid jazz "movement" is also seen as a "revival" of jazz-funk or jazz fusion or soul jazz by leading DJs such as Norman Jay or Gilles Peterson or Patrick Forge, also known as "rare groove crate diggers".