Galliano - 4our

Galliano was a London based acid jazz group, started up in 1988. The group was the first ever signing to Eddie Piller and Gilles Peterson's Talkin' Loud label. The original members were Rob Gallagher (vocals), Constantine Weir (vocals), and Crispin Robinson (percussion). Other important members include Valerie Etienne, who participated in the recording of all their CDs, along with other musicians such as Mick Talbot on keyboards, Crispin Taylor on drums and Ernie McKone on bass guitar.

For those of you who know the Galliano of old,then this album will come as a bit of a suprise, because it doesn't really remind you of anything the band have done before,but do not let that put you off.

Granted, the keyboard skills of Mick Talbot and lyrics of Constantine Weir no longer remain, but it still manages to provide the listener with a very funky yet eclectic mix of Rock,soul,pop and even country.

I know it sounds bizarre but this album works on many levels, which enables you to listen to it right the way through without being tiresome or sounding the same,just listen to the haunting sound of Roofing Tiles or even Who ate the Fly.

The main difference with this CD is the fact that it sounds much more polished and slick ,even Rob Gallagher's singing has improved.

1. Who Ate The Fly (Gonna Get You)
2. Ease Your Mind
3. Slack Hands
4. Roofing Tiles
5. Slightly Frayed
6. Best Lives Of Our Days (Featuring Red Snapper)
7. Thunderhead
8. Freefall
9. Some Came
10. Funny How
11. Western Front
12. Who's In Charge
13. Battles Are Brewing (Reprise)

Get Galliano - 4our at Amazon


acidjazzy said...

Anonymous said...

many thanks -aldershotmick

James said...

I should first compliment you on your excellent blog before getting in to my bit of nit-picking.

Well done on the excellent blog.

So, now the train-spotterish bit. Galliano (in the form of Rob Gallagher) was the first signing to Gilles Peterson and Eddie Piller's Acid Jazz label and produced the single "Frederick Lies Still", as well as a live version of that tune on "Totally Wired" and collaborations with Bukky Leo and "the Quiet Boys" (Chris Bangs). A couple of years later, Galliano (in the form of the broader Galliano "project", including Spry and Constantine) was the first signing to Gilles Peterson's Talkin' Loud label. Eddie Piller didn't actually have any involvement in Talkin' Loud, which was a subsidiary of Phonogram. Eddie Piller continued to run Acid Jazz records after Gilles had left to set up Talkin' Loud.

What is Acid Jazz?

Acid jazz (also known as club jazz) is a musical genre that combines elements of soul music, funk, disco, particularly looping beats and modal harmony. It developed over the 1980s and 1990s and could be seen as tacking the sound of jazz-funk onto electronic dance/pop music.

The compositions of groups such as The Brand New Heavies and Incognito often feature chord structures usually associated with Jazz music. The Heavies in particular were known in their early years for beginning their songs as catchy pop and rapidly steering them into jazz territory before "resolving" the composition and thus not losing any pop listeners but successfully "exposing" them to jazz elements in "baby steps".

The acid jazz "movement" is also seen as a "revival" of jazz-funk or jazz fusion or soul jazz by leading DJs such as Norman Jay or Gilles Peterson or Patrick Forge, also known as "rare groove crate diggers".